Fayetteville, NC, DWI Attorney

Driving While Impaired Can Change Your Life

North Carolina has been cracking down on DWI and speeding offenses. The state's "Booze it and lose it" campaign and recent changes in the law are designed to provide stricter punishment — and perhaps a stronger deterrent to stop people from drunk driving. Under the worst-case scenario, you could face two years in prison, a $4,000 fine and lose your driving privileges, while gaining points that can triple the cost of your auto insurance and even have your car impounded.

My job is to help you get through this mess. My name is Gregory Byrd, and I'm a DWI attorney. You can count on me for knowledgeable and aggressive representation for both portions of your DWI charges: the criminal defense portion and the DMV license suspension. I am a lawyer representing North Carolina residents as well as Fort Bragg military personnel.

Understanding the Potential Sentence

In the state of North Carolina, there are five levels of punishment and a factor worksheet that the judges are required to complete. This helps determine the level of punishment that you may be facing. The levels are as follows:

  • Level one punishment — Up to two years in jail and a $4,000 fine, abstain from alcohol for up to 60 days with monitoring
  • Level two punishment — Up to one year in jail and a $2,000 fine, abstain from alcohol for up to 60 days with monitoring
  • Level three punishment — Up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine
  • Level four punishment — Up to 120 days in jail and $500 fine
  • Level five punishment — Up to 60 days in jail and a $200 fine
  • Level 1A (effective Dec. 1, 2011) — Up to 36 months in jail and a $10,000 fine, with a minimum of 12 months mandatory.

The potential sentences listed above are in addition to a driver's license revocation by the Department of Motor Vehicles. The judge will also weigh aggravating factors that include, but are not limited to:

  • Gross impairment of .15 or higher blood alcohol content
  • Especially reckless driving
  • Negligent driving that led to an accident
  • Driving with a driver's license suspension
  • Two or more convictions for other motor vehicle offenses

Byrd Is the Word for DWI Defense — Call 800-793-1962

If you are charged with a DWI (DUI), you want to stay out of jail and protect your right to drive. That's what I want too. Call my Fayetteville law office, or contact me online, and we'll get started on your legal defense.